RSS Feed

Whoopie Pies!

Posted on

Image linked from amazon.co.uk, where you should now head to buy the book

The recipes that I am posting about (but not actually posting) today came from the above book – Whoopie Pies, by Sarah Billingsley and Amy Treadwell. Otherwise it’d be very weird for me to have a picture of it right up there at the top. One of the cool things about the book is that it gives you a list of sponge flavours and a list of fillings, tells you how to make them all and then you can put them together by yourself. It also has a very chilled out vibe to it and is full of cute drawings and very sound advice for the whoopie pie maker. Some of the recipes are unique, too – can we say bacon-chive goat cheese filling? I love a savoury cake, me. The two whoopie pies I made from the book were my first attempt at this American classic, and made me keen to try more – which I did, on Red Nose Day this year. They’re a little fussy to make but worth it; I really need a bit more practise with them though, so I can learn not to smudge buttercream all over the finished pies and spoil the look of them…

The two whoopie pies in question today are cardamom and pistachio with rosewater filling, and classic chocolate with marshmallow filling and sugar sprinkles. If you’re going for the absolute (metaphorical not literal) cheese factor then the chocolate ones hit the nail on the head. In fact, I thought that they tasted shop bought, which while it isn’t a criticism was a very strange experience. You know when chocolate cakes are kind of chewy and dense, and taste like they have a loooooooong shelf life? That’s what I mean. Sometimes, that’s what you want, too. Like macaroni cheese from a box – I know it’s wrong, and it’s nothing like real macaroni cheese, but sometimes I have a very real need for the stuff. Marshalls, though, none of your Kraft business. Marshall’s macaroni is the finest macaroni available to humanity, and luckily you can buy it without the weird orange sauce powder to make your own, proper mac and cheese with.

To get back to the baking, I liked the chocolate ones, and enjoyed the marshmallow filling which utilises that favourite of our cousins across the pond, Marshmallow Fluff. I personally didn’t find myself hooked on the stuff, but I know so many people who’ve fallen under its sticky spell, and I must say that when combined with cake it does have quite an intoxicatingly sugary effect. However, while I *enjoyed* those, I *loved* the cardamom and pistachio cakes, and this recipe kicked off my newfound love of pistachio, with or without cardamom, without which this much acclaimed (by other people as well as me) white chocolate, coconut and pistachio cake would never have been invented. I found the rosewater filling that went with them a little overwhelmed by the wonder of the sponge sandwich, but what an excellent combination those flavours all are – cardamom, pistachio and rosewater, all in a happy team devoted to deliciousness.

I don’t have much more to say on the subject of these cakes, and sadly only have another couple of photos of them, all crammed together in a box to be taken to a girls night. I’m really just here because I found these photos and wanted to share them, few as they are, and make my recommendation for the book . You’re welcome.

 

 

 

 

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983.

Leave a Reply

